Heyo Mayo

Disclaimer: Totally wrote this last night and forgot to post it, oops!

Ok guys, I think that writing here more often will help me to stay strong and so I’m committing to writing three times a week. Maybe more but certainly no less. I found that when I don’t have the requirement to write here I don’t feel as committed to keeping this lifestyle and I’m more prone to casually eating sugar. That’s no good. I know that there will always be occasions calling for the consumption of sugar but instead of using those as an excuse to go on a sugar binge, I can take a nibble and continue on down my path. With this blog to keep me accountable, I think I’ll have a much easier time for that.

Now here in the land of Milk and Honey it is the time for Matzoh, a flavorless, dry and flat bread. Along with Matzoh there are many other restrictions on what I can and can’t eat for this holiday, string that together with my avoidance of refined sugar and I am most certainly making myself lunches to bring to work this week. Tonight I’m prepping a delicious egg salad (I promise pictures to come) for which I’ll post the recipe below. I know what you’re thinking, egg salad? That’s really rich, I’m sure there’s sugar in there somewhere. And normally you’d be right: store bought mayonnaise has a lot of sugar in it. But here’s the secret, sugar is completely unnecessary to the creation or taste of good mayo. It’s just there, like they said in the movie Fed Up, to create an addiction that will keep you coming back for more. It serves no other purpose. The good news, mayo is incredibly easy to make (as long as there isn’t a thunderstorm, something about the barometric pressure keeps it from coming together) and personally the first time I made mayo for myself (ok the boyfriend helped, it might even be said he took the lead) instead of buying it I immediately noticed the difference. It tasted so much better and richer and had such a depth of flavor that I was instantly hooked. So of course while making tomorrow’s lunch I realized I couldn’t hoard the secret to this wonderfully mayo for myself but I had to share it with the world!

So today you’re getting two recipes for the price of one blog post! I’ll talk you through making mayo and then give you a way to use it! So far mayo is the only condiment I’ve made myself, but as I get more adventurous and try to recreate my favorite dishes sans sugar I’ll experiment with other condiments and of course you’ll be the first ones to know how it goes. For now, enjoy!

Homemade Mayonnaise

  • 1 Egg Yolk
  • Lemon juice, to taste
  • Salt, to taste
  • 1/2-3/4 cups of neutral oil (we used canola oil)
  • 1 tablespoon of Dijon mustard (optional)

Whisk together the egg yolk, lemon juice, salt and mustard. With your bowl sturdy on the table, slowly drizzle in the oil with one hand, while whisking quickly with the other (honestly this is much easier with two people). Keep pouring in and whisking (don’t ever stop!) until the mixture thickens up and all the oil is gone, be careful not to pour in the oil too quickly. Crack in black pepper to taste and store in a jar until needed.

Egg salad for two

  • 6 eggs
  • 1 tomato
  • Half a leek (traditionally people use onion)
  • One celery stalk
  • One carrot
  • Homemade mayonnaise

Slowly place the eggs in rapidly boiling water and let boil for 8 minutes. Run under cold water until cool enough to handle, crack and peel off the shell, and cut into eighths. Finely dice all the vegetables (these were just the veggies I had in the fridge this can be changed to your own personal tastes) and mix together with the chopped eggs. Add mayo till your preferred level of creaminess, salt and pepper, and serve as desired.

Leave a Reply

